fb logo twitter logo

Currency Converter


Convert 

Into



Weather

Click on the icon to view the weather in Nelspruit

weather icon

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Old Vic Traveller's Inn provided the ideal launch pad for Kruger National Park and Mpumalanga Province within South Africa. Dave took excellent care of my wife and I, providing an overnight trip into Kruger Park with less than 24 hours notice. This personal touch really made a difference for us. After being honest about the chances of seeing different animals on a self-drive vs. guided tour, we chose to go with a guide and it paid off. While self-driving can yield good results, someone with more knowledge takes the hassle of driving out of your hands and also can communicate better with vehicles around you (in our case this led to seeing 5 male lions together). We were able to see the Big 5, cheetah (one female with three young cheetahs), zebras, giraffes, kudu, hyenas, and the list goes on and on. We are very grateful to Old Vic. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars 
 
 
 
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Group of 4 stayed for 2 nights in August 2013. Our room was all the way at the back of the property, facing a creek & mountains. It was very quiet & felt very private. Room was very clean & Internet connection in the check-in area was the best we had after 2 weeks in South Africa!! We hand-washed our clothes the night we arrived, but due to weather they were not dry 24 hours later so Dave kindly allowed us to have our clothes dried in the dryer free of charge. Thank you so much! The hostel is also very secure, our car was parked inside the gate and we always felt safe there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends

 

 

Old Vic Traveller's Inn delivers great service for very affordable price. Rooms are clean, staff is very warm welcoming and helpful. For example, Dave drove us to our shuttle to JHB at 5.00AM because taxi driver did not show up. In addition, Kruger park tour offered by old vic is in relative terms affordable. I learned a lot from Dave and Ted about South Africa and its culture, people and etcetera. These guys were our guides for three days in Kruger park and Blyden canyon.

 

 

 This is our third stay at the Old Vic during the past 4 months as we've been visiting various places in the region. The team here are always warm and welcoming and the owners Dave and Bella have gone out of their way to help us in any way they can. After our first visit we left some books in a locker by mistake and they kindly held on to them for us for over a month until our return. I also thought I lost my watch (outside the hostel) and it turns out I'd left that in the room on our second visit and they handed it back when I came for the third time! We really feel welcome and like we're home again when we get back here. The entire place is always spotlessly clean, the kitchen area is large with lots of fridge space, the wifi is good enough to skype (!), and there's a really lovely outdoor terrace. The pool is a very welcome treat on a hot day, there's a small bar area with good value drinks and always friendly faces. The only downside is that it's quite a walk to town, and you really need to drive - or be driven - everywhere. The hostel does, however, recommend a lovely local taxi driver called Ben who offers a great, safe service and we always use him. You pay a flat rate of R40 ppn to anywhere in town and he always arrives promtly. We'll always stay here if we come to Nelspruit. The great team and lovely service (and the cleanliness!) really make it an easy choice. Thanks Old Vic for being our home from home :-)

   
Overall
Accomodation
100%
for weekend
Les Mc Leod, South Africa 2013/04/28

 

 
How you were rated Safari Now
  80
     
Overall 80
Late arrival Thank you for be so friendly on our late arrival!
Dalene Kruger, South Africa 2013/03/04
You want to rest? Then that is what you will find!Thanks Dave and Bella! We had a good rest.  Your peaceful, well run place was a good investment for our holiday.  Will for sure keep you under our favourites and come and visit again!  Staff very friendly thanks Ann and the rest!  Lots of great places to see and things to do so nearby.  Onsite swimming pool, playing pool and chest was great, great walks all around. Chantel Lee, South Africa

2013/03/26



saytc logo   orange logo   citybug logo   greyhound logo   Zungeza logo

intercape logo   translux logo   BB Logo
SafariBookings logo